General Information


A microcosm of sensations and flavours in the centre of the world: this is Ecuador.  A unique country where Latin America’s cultures, peoples and scenery are fused together to create the world’s most perfect perfume.

Ecuador is located on the equatorial line in the northeast region of South America.  Its northern border is shared with Colombia and Peru, to the east and south it shares borders with Peru and to the west lays the Pacific Ocean.  With 283561 square kilometres of surface area, it is the eighth largest country of South America and has a geographic diversity spread throughout its four regions: the Andes, the Amazon, the Coast and the Galapagos Islands.

Four worlds converge in its territory, from the warm coast drenched by the Pacific that gradually rises towards the snowy heights and temperate valleys of the Andes Mountains, to the green cover of Amazonian biodiversity; all of this as a prelude to a sublime reward, the Galapagos Islands.

Text: Ministry of Tourism of Ecuador


Conscious Tourism

Based on the principles of sustainability and ethics, conscious tourism is a living and dynamic concept in constant construction that promotes the values of peace, friendship, respect and love of life as the essence of the practice of tourism.  It represents a pact of responsibility and mutual respect among visitors, host communities and cultural and natural heritages.
Add pdf document “Ecuador towards conscious tourism”, link

Additional information