Multilateral : Corte Permanente de Arbitraje (CPA)

Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA)

The Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA) is an intergovernmental organization established in 1899 to facilitate arbitration and other forms of dispute resolution between States; currently it has 115 Member States.

The CPA has expanded its activities to the private sector and current cases in which States, state entities, intergovernmental organizations and private parties are involved.

The International Office, headed by its Secretary General, is responsible for complying with the mandate of the Administrative Council, which meets twice a year before this body, with the participation of the Embassies. The Board determines the administrative work, future activities and approves the budget of the Court.

The Board does not interfere in the arbitration work of the Court.

The Budget Committee is the body responsible for the analysis of the budget submitted by the Secretary-General and for presenting this to the Administrative Council for approval.

Ecuador in the Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA)

Ecuador’s accession to the founding convention of the Permanent Court of Arbitration of 1899 occurred on 3 July, 1907.

Ecuador has been part of the working groups that have been formed for the development of Economic and Financial Rules governing the preparation of the Budget of the CPA.

Any communication relating to arbitration cases that Ecuador has before this forum is directly addressed to the State Attorney (Attorney General).

More information:

Additional information