Multilateral : Corte Penal Internacional (CPI)

International Criminal Court (ICC)

The International Criminal Court (ICC), governed by the Rome Statute, is the first permanent, treaty based, international criminal court established to help end impunity for the perpetrators of the most serious crimes of concern to the international community.

The ICC is an independent international organisation, and is not part of the United Nations system. Its seat is at The Hague in the Netherlands. Although the Court’s expenses are funded primarily by States Parties, it also receives voluntary contributions from governments, international organisations, individuals, corporations and other entities.

The international community has long aspired to the creation of a permanent international court, and, in the 20th century, it reached consensus on definitions of genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes. The Nuremberg and Tokyo trials addressed war crimes, crimes against peace, and crimes against humanity committed during the Second World War.

In the 1990s, after the end of the Cold War, tribunals like the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia and for Rwanda were the result of consensus that impunity is unacceptable. However, because they were established to try crimes committed only within a specific time-frame and during a specific conflict, there was general agreement that an independent, permanent criminal court was needed.

For more information about the ICC you can visit:

EEcuador and the International Criminal Court (ICC)

Ecuador signed the Statute of Rome on 7 October, 1998, and ratified it on 5 February, 2002.  It was a member of the Pension Committee and Budget and Finance Committee.  Currently, Ecuador is part of the Board of Directors of the Trust Fund for Victims.
The last session of the Assembly of States Parties of the International Criminal Court (11th) took place from 14 to 23 November, 2012, in the city of The Hague. 

Additional information